Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Review: The Unseen by J.L. Bryan

Published: October 31, 2013
Format: eBook
My rating: 5/5 stars
 
Synopsis from Goodreads:
 
Cassidy is a young tattoo artist living in the Little Five Points neighborhood of Atlanta. She’s always suffered terrible nightmares, and sometimes the hideous creatures seem to follow her out of her dreams and into her waking life, though she’s the only one who can see them. Drugs and alcohol can blot them out, but never entirely chase them away.

When a demonic cult begins to take control of the people in her life, including her younger brother, Cassidy discovers that the unseen world of monsters is very real. She can no longer avoid it. To protect those she loves, she must accept her own hidden supernatural talents and face the forces of evil before the sinister cult achieves its twisted goals and casts the world into darkness.
 
The Unseen is an utterly titillating story that is impossible to forget. J.L. Bryan continues to impress me with his ability to completely shock and alarm me! This is a book that should definitely be read by those who like to experience the darkest elements of the supernatural.
 
JL has produced a plot enriched with the creepiest, freakiest, and most appalling entities you will ever come across: Demons. I'll admit that something about demons really scares the pants off of me, but they aren't the only things in this book to be weary of. There's also Ouija boards, astral projection, possession, cults, and terrifying transparent energy-devouring creatures that will make your skin crawl. I must say, I really quite enjoyed the graphic imagery used to describe the heinous demons and odd creatures featured throughout this novel--even if I did have a rather disturbing dream involving one of the huge spider monstrosities that feeds on the living. Well done, JL! These creatures jumped off the pages of the book and burrowed into my subconscious! I'm impressed, and also a little freaked out! Yeesh..
 
The heroine of this book is a young woman named Cassidy, and what I really appreciate about her is that she's not your typical do-gooder protagonist. This chick has serious issues. She had a very traumatizing experience as a teen and she is the only one who can see into the Unseen world. She self-medicates in order to shield herself from being able to see the variety of transparent creatures that feed off the living. A frightening series of events finally forces Cassidy to snap out of her reverie and face what is going on around her, because her life and the lives of her friends and family are in jeopardy.
 
There are a lot of interesting facts to learn in this novel that are very pertinent to the story, and I just kept on being amazed by all of them. I sincerely applaud JL for his originality and the unique layers that are peeled back with each passing chapter to reveal this intricate story . One of my favorite parts of the book was learning the truth about Cassidy's heritage and everything she's capable of--I truly didn't see any of that coming!
 
Like I said before, this entire book is filled with ongoing creepiness, which mostly involves demons. Be prepared to be thoroughly disgusted and mortified, because JL paints these demons in an even more perverse light than I could have ever imagined. There's one scene in particular that disturbed me and caused me to actually cringe, yet it somehow also made me simultaneously--and somewhat shamefully--intrigued...Overall I loved every minute of this book, especially the explosive ending. The main message of this review is this: Go read this book, and prepare to be mystified!
 
*Special thanks to J.L. Bryan for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
 


17 comments:

  1. I'm scared shitless of Ouija Boards and astral projection. Dude just thinking about it makes my skin crawl, add possession and what not into the mix and I'm a goner! This sounds so horrific I love it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Hello, and thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I really do adore comments, so I appreciate you taking the time to leave me one. I read every one I receive, and I always respond to them by replying in my comment box, or leaving you a comment on your blog. Happy reading! =D

-Shanon

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...