Sunday, August 25, 2013

Review: Twist (Mageri #2) by Dannika Dark

Published: February 26, 2012
Publisher: Dannika Dark
Series: Mageri
Format: eBook
My rating: 5/5 stars
 
Synopsis from Goodreads:
 
Months after moving to the mysterious city of Cognito, Silver is developing her gifts as a Mage, and learning how to live under new laws. Forced to give up her old life, she must now live in secret among the humans. She finally has hope of leading an ordinary life . . . until Logan Cross walks into it.

Their chance meeting leads her close to discovering the identity of the nameless Mage who once stole her light and discovered the unique power she possesses. That knowledge poses an unimaginable threat to Silver, fueling her search to find out who he is, before he finds her first.

Lives are at stake. Truths are revealed. And an unexpected passion ignites.
 
Twist, the second book in the Mageri series, was just as fantastic as the first book! Although a very big threat was eliminated in the previous book, a bigger, badder one still remains and he succeeds at bringing forth more torture on Silver this time around. Dannika Dark is amazing at creating bad guys that literally make your blood boil! Seriously, I'm going to need some anxiety meds if she keeps this up (I say this lovingly of course! Bring on the bad guys!).

Silver has more room to come into her own in this book, which I love. She's no longer under the control of her heinous Maker, and she continues to learn more from her hard-edged but caring Ghuardian, Justus. Silver gets stronger every day, emotionally and physically, and this is a chick that can really hold her own, even if she is a little naive at times. I really respect her character and I find myself rooting for her constantly, especially through the times in which she refuses not to be broken. She has a lot of "Oh crap!" moments, but her tenacity and strong will guides her through--with the help of her sassy sarcasm of course!

In this book we have the introduction of one of my absolute FAVORITE and swoon-worthy male characters EVER: Logan Cross. Good golly, y'all, Dannika Dark should include a complimentary fan with every purchase of this book because you will most definitely need it whenever this man is present! Whew. Logan is a Chitah, which is another Breed of supernatural. He is NOT to be messed with! Logan and Silver get off to a rocky and sort of confusing start, especially since their first encounter sends all kinds of mixed signals Silver's way. Logan is dangerous, predatory, but also incredibly sexy and highly protective of Silver. As Silver gets to know him better, he truly proves just how loyal he is to her. Their attraction is electric (pun intended?) and it practically jumps off of the pages of the book to smack you right in the face. Yeah, it's that intense! Mr. Cross has completely melted my heart, and I love his pet nicknames for Silver! So cute!

There are several other characters that get introduced in this novel that I enjoyed as well. I'm very interested in all of the different Breeds and it was nice to get an introduction to some of them on a more intimate level. I adore Levi, Logan's brother--he's hilarious! I was also incredibly pumped to have Sunny, Silver's best friend, back in the picture. She's a pistol!

As this book came to a close and Silver and her friends found out more about the man who threatens more than just her existence, bonds become stronger and the people Silver cares about come together to fight this enemy. Things are definitely going to continue to heat up for Silver but at least she doesn't have to stand alone. I'm sure the next book will be filled with more butt-kicking and revelation-revealing. I can't wait!

16 comments:

  1. Hmmm... Logan. Was he in book 1? I don't remember.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, again my memory is a little spotty. I feel like Silver is a little ho-ish LOL. Who was the dude he hooked up with in book 1?

    I feel like she's juggling guys but this Logan dude sounds delish.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, Logan makes his debut in book 2. He's definitely my new fav book boyfriend! ;)

      I too was suffering from some romantic whiplash in the first book because it seemed like Silver had the attention of like, 3 or 4 different dudes! She hooked up a little w/ Adam AND Simon in book 1.

      I feel like you might like book 2, 3 & 4 better. =)

      Delete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Hello, and thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I really do adore comments, so I appreciate you taking the time to leave me one. I read every one I receive, and I always respond to them by replying in my comment box, or leaving you a comment on your blog. Happy reading! =D

-Shanon

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...