Friday, August 23, 2013

Review: Sterling (Mageri #1) by Dannika Dark

Published: September 5, 2011
Publisher: Dannika Dark
Series: Mageri
Format: eBook
My rating: 5/5 stars
 
Synopsis from Goodreads:
 
Zoë Merrick lived a less than ordinary life, until late one night, she was brutally attacked and left for dead.

A man named Adam spotted her running down the road covered in blood, and took her under his wing. Zoë didn't just survive that night - she underwent a physical transformation and acquired strange new abilities. Severed from her old life, her frustration grows as she tries to comprehend what's happening to her.

Serendipity leads her to Justus. He's handsome, arrogant, and not entirely human. Zoë learns the truth about what she is, and just how dangerous their world is for a young Mage. The only way she will understand her power is by putting her trust in this man, and accepting the protection he offers.

When her immortal freedom is threatened by the one man who has a right to claim her, Zoë learns the price of freedom...and the value of loyalty.
 
Sterling is book one in the Mageri series, and I couldn't have enjoyed it more! Dannika Dark sucks you in from page one, introducing you to strong characters and a whole new world filled with the supernatural. Ms. Dark is amazing at pulling you through the pages of her book, so that it feels as if you're right there with the characters as the entire plot unfolds.

Zoe, A.K.A. Silver, is the heroine in this superb novel and I liked her immediately! She's a sassy, sarcastic, smart, independent woman that doesn't take any crap from anyone. I don't know if I've ever come across a character like her; one that goes through such an immense transformation emotionally and physically. There's a lot of character growth here.

Silver's life changes dramatically when she is attacked one night on her way back to her apartment and she is left for dead. The attack was bizarre and frightening, and just one of the many startling events that will have you holding your breath throughout this book! Silver's human life ends the night she is killed, and she's left to piece together what exactly happened to her and what it all means.

Silver is a Mage, which means that she can manipulate energy, and do some other things that are pretty cool! But just because she has new abilities doesn't mean that she's untouchable, especially since she finds herself being hunted by some pretty nasty villains, including the man that brutally attacked her and turned her life upside-down. But luckily, she's got some kickass new friends that are there to help her cope along the way.

Now, when I say that Silver has some new friends, what I really mean is that she is now surrounded by a very HOT buffet of men that care about her in different ways! You've got, Adam, the caring and protective guy that swoops in at the very beginning to be there for Silver; you have Justus, the man that volunteers to be Silver's "Ghuardian" who is literally a walking sex magnet; then you have Simon, who is so dirty-minded and hilarious that he is guaranteed to make you laugh no matter what! I absolutely love these guys and they seriously warmed my heart with how much they care about Silver and how protective they are of her.

As much as I laughed during this book and swooned over the various men in Silver's life, I also really enjoyed having the pants scared off of me by the evil characters that plague this novel! These vile men put Silver through absolute hell, and at times the things that were happening to her were so intense and felt so real that it made me pretty emotional. I was literally on the edge of my seat! But the ending of this book left me with a victorious smile and the assurance that Silver will continue to blow me away, because it is clear that her story is far from over!

14 comments:

  1. I read this a long time ago and I hardly remember the details. What I do remember was I found it odd that a human became her champion instead of her supernatural friends.

    I didn't have the urge to read the next one ht I heard its beget. If you get the chance to read it I'll def ask you about Adam, he's my bet for Silver.

    Braine

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Hello, and thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I really do adore comments, so I appreciate you taking the time to leave me one. I read every one I receive, and I always respond to them by replying in my comment box, or leaving you a comment on your blog. Happy reading! =D

-Shanon

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...