Saturday, September 1, 2012

Review: Enshadowed (Nevermore #2) by Kelly Creagh


Published: August 28, 2012
Publisher: Atheneum Books
Format: Hardcover, 429 pages
Genre: Young Adult
Series: Nevermore
My rating: 5/5 stars!
 
Synopsis from Goodreads:

True love takes a twisted turn in the second book of this modern gothic romance trilogy channeling the dark brilliance of Edgar Allan Poe.

While Varen remains a prisoner in a perilous dream world where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life, Isobel travels to Baltimore to confront the dark figure known throughout the world as the Poe Toaster. This man, the same man who once appeared to Isobel in her dreams and abandoned her in Varen’s nightmare world, holds the key to saving Varen.

But when Isobel discovers a way to return to this dream world, she finds herself swept up in a realm that not only holds remnants of Edgar Allan Poe’s presence, but has also now taken on the characteristics of Varen’s innermost self. It is a dark world of fear, terror, and anger.

When Isobel once more encounters Varen, she finds him changed. And now Isobel must face a new adversary—one who also happens to be her greatest love.


Enshadowed is the second book in the Nevermore trilogy, and I devoured it rather quickly and loved ever minute of it! This series is easily one of my favorites. As with book one, this book included enough mystery, Poe references, romantic turmoil, and unforeseeable twists to keep me on the edge of my seat and unable to put the book down. Kelly Creagh is a genius! Her writing is so incredibly beautiful and graceful; and her world building is phenomenal. I often felt like I was right there in the story, which was really creepy and terrifying at times!

Isobel spends the majority of this book trying to concoct a plan to get Varen back from the dreamworld where he is trapped. Isobel, along with the reader, learns a lot of fascinating and horrifying truths throughout the book. There's so much information that is revealed about the dreamworld, the malevolent lady in white, the truth surrounding Edgar Allan Poe's death, Reynolds, and Varen! I was taken on such a ride with Isobel and I found myself shocked and excited several times along the way. There's no way to predict what the next chapter will bring, and that's one of the things I love most about this series--it's completely original and unpredictable in the most fantastic way!

I really adore Isobel and Varen, but it was also really nice to get more of my other favorite characters in this book! Gwen, Isobel's new and most trusted friend, has more of a role in this part of the story. She's just as witty and sarcastic as ever, as well as completely unfiltered. You are pretty much guaranteed a laugh when her character is present! She also played a big part in aiding Isobel on her quest to save Varen, which proves just how awesome she is as a friend. Another character I was happy to see more of was Pinfeathers! Yes, he's creepy and you never know exactly what his agenda is, but for some reason I can't help but be fond of him. He actually earned more of my admiration towards the end of the book, for reasons I won't name because I don't want to spoil the story for anyone. But just know that he is pretty rad!

The last few chapters of the book left me speechless! While I will freely admit that this installment of the trilogy was just as amazing to get wrapped up in as book one, I definitely have more mixed emotions about the ending of this book because it was even more shocking than the first book. I still have no idea where Isobel and Varen's stories will end up, but I am so EXCITED to find out and I can't wait to be reunited with them in the next book! I'm also hoping to get more Edgar Allan Poe, of course!

6 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Hello, and thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I really do adore comments, so I appreciate you taking the time to leave me one. I read every one I receive, and I always respond to them by replying in my comment box, or leaving you a comment on your blog. Happy reading! =D

-Shanon

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...